Day 1: From Florence to North Carolina

I am so relieved – we have officially moved out of our house and have arrived at the first stop on our journey in North Carolina.

I’ve moved 6 times in the past 7 years, but this is the first time we’ve gotten rid of 80% of our belongings and moved across the country. That first part (getting rid of everything) has been a full-time job for the past few months and I’ve been selling stuff like a madwoman. And yes – I chose the word madwoman very purposefully. It got to the point where my friends were afraid to give me anything for fear I would sell it on eBay, Facebook, at a yard sale, or find some other means of making a profit. Maybe I’ve been a little obsessive – but hey, moving across the country is expensive.

So, since I last wrote, I’ve finished up all my sales (I forgot to mention that at my yard sale the highlight was a man pulling up and asking if I had any guns or ammo for sale #onlyinSouthCarolina), packed everything, completed everything on that long list I created (except the parts about our route and my school stuff), and cleaned my house for the new renters. I was obsessive about that cleaning part too, BTW. The new renter texted me last night and said, “Goodness did u scrub the whole house with a toothbrush?? [I actually did do this…]  I’ve never seen a house that spotless!! Bless ur heart!!”  I will say, I was proud of the way I cleaned that house! Now I know that I can always fall back on a job as a professional cleaner.

This week, my big task is planning out our route and booking those pet-friendly hotels.

For now, here are a few pictures to capture day 1 of our trip.

Pat and I with two of our best friends, Amanda and Brenna. They came over at 8am yesterday and helped us pack and clean.

Pat and I with two of our best friends, Amanda and Brenna. They came over at 8am yesterday and helped us pack and clean.

Pat's truck loaded up in South Carolina hillbilly style. #necessary

Pat’s truck loaded up in South Carolina hillbilly style. #necessary

Amanda expertly packed this aptly named box.  Thanks friend.

Amanda expertly packed this aptly named box. Thanks friend.

Driving through Marlboro County on our way to North Carolina.

Driving through Marlboro County, South Carolina on our way to North Carolina. So pretty.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1: From Florence to North Carolina

  1. Congratulations on finishing the first leg of your trip!! It must feel AWESOME to have that part behind you. Yay!!! Hope you can fit a little bit of relaxation in this week before you set off! Give your family a hug from me :).

    • Yes – it was such a huge relief to get everything packed! I was so afraid it wasn’t all going to fit since we didn’t have a U-Haul. But, we got all our things stuffed into our cars (to the brim!). We’re basically only taking clothing, books, and our kitchen stuff with us!

Leave a Reply

