Week of Winston-Salem Love

All in all, it’s been a pretty calm week (depends on your version of calm). Since we moved out of our house in Florence last Sunday, everything is packed and waiting in our car to continue on the next leg of our trip. We’re staying with my parents this week  until Pat finishes up with his brother’s bachelor party.

A few highlights of the week to hold you over until our trip picks back up on Monday:

  • My cousins came to visit from Asheville. They’re both boys, ages 10 and 13. They spent the week with us and kept us entertained. My younger cousin, Ian, literally never stops talking. At 7:00am on Monday morning, he was already sitting beside me in full-on conversation mode and this didn’t end until he went to bed. He’s a super funny kid. My other cousin, Elijah, just got his ears pierced. It turns out he got them pierced at a body piercing studio so I got to experience that for the first time (he lost one of his earrings so he had to go get it replaced…no I did not take him to get his ears pierced). The boys also asked how old I was, and when I told them 28, they told me that I was almost 40.  Aaaaaah. Thanks boys. A real ego booster.

    "You look like you're 108."   Apparently, I look very old to them.

    “You look like you’re 108.” Apparently, I look very old to them.

  • The Feliway medicine for Socrates came in the mail. I’ve plugged in the diffuser and so far, so good. The real test begins, of course, when we are moving from hotel to hotel – I’ll keep you posted.
  • My brother came home from Atlanta Institute! I don’t think I’ve shared this yet, but my younger brother, Turner, is a 2014 Metro Atlanta corps member with Teach For America. It feels full circle since I just finished my job with Teach For America in June. I’m super proud of him.
There's my brother on the left. Handsome little guy, isn't he? (P.S. I don't really look that old do I??)

There’s my brother on the left. Handsome little guy, isn’t he? (P.S. I don’t really look that old do I??)

  • And, finally, I’ve gotten to hang out with my parents. I’m a lucky girl when it comes to my family unit. My mom and dad would both give their right arm to me if I needed it. This week, they’ve cooked us meals, helped me get a new cell phone sorted out (my old one shattered a few weeks ago…), driven us around, watched the Bachelorette with me (gold star!), and generally been awesome.
My mom and our dog, Newman. He's an old English sheepdog, and yes, he's huge.

My mom and our dog, Newman. He’s an old English sheepdog, and yes, he’s huge.

My dad and my brother at UNC graduation in May.

My dad and my brother at UNC graduation in May.

So that’s it for week one. I’ll share an update on our route this weekend before we hit the road on Monday.

Until later, friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

