17 Weeks (+ First Baby Bump Picture)

Life is good here. Baby is healthy, mom is healthy, and that makes me happy!

How far along?  17 weeks 3 days

Total weight gain/loss:  7 pounds.  I’m at 117 now.  I was a little stressed at the doctor this week about going from +5 to +7 in about a week, but she didn’t seem concerned at all since my overall weight gain is still well within the range she wants me. So – I’m trusting her and going with it! And – just trying to trust my body that it’s doing what it needs to do! I am proud of how healthy I’ve been eating though – a lot of nuts, yogurt, apples, and hard boiled eggs. I seem to really be wanting more proteins!

Maternity clothes?  Yes. They are so much more comfortable! I got another pair of maternity jeans from the Gap last weekend and a wonderful pair of leggings from H&M. Both have full and stretchy midsections – honestly, now that I’m wearing them, sometimes I wonder why anyone wouldn’t want to wear maternity jeans. They are like the comfiest thing in the world! As for tops, maternity tops still seem to have a bit much fabric on the top for me to really fit into, but I am mostly wearing pretty flowing things now. I got a hoodie last weekend from Uniqlo and it’s been my new favorite thing. Comfort is definitely taking precedent in my clothing choices right now.

Sleep: Still 8 – 9 hours each night. I’m not sure if it was allergies from North Carolina that had me so congested – but ever since we came back to SF after the holidays, my congestion has generally been better. Still there – but not so bad that I can’t sleep.

Best moments this week: We had our monthly check-up last Wednesday and the doctor said all looked healthy with me and baby. My weight was good, blood pressure good, and the baby’s heartbeat (which we got to hear again!) was 150. All was well with little one and that makes me a happy mama. I also scheduled our second trimester ultrasound for January 20th – and this is when we’ll get to find out if we’re having a little boy or girl. I’m thinking it’s a boy and Pat think it’s a girl – we’ll see!

Miss anything? Nope. Now that I’m through the first trimester and not feeling so icky, I feel generally happy and more content about anything I have to give up during pregnancy.

Movement: Yes! I started feeling baby move for the first time this week. I can mostly feel little one when I’m laying down at night right before bed. It feels like little kernels of popcorn popping inside me. It makes bedtime one of my favorite times of day.

Food cravings: Umm…this week, I have come home everyday and wanted a Drumstick Ice Cream Cone. But, honestly, that’s like the most unhealthy part of my day lately. I figure one ice cream a day can’t be too bad…

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope. Thank goodness!

Have you started to show yet? Yes! I have a small bump! Look!

Baby and I went for a walk on the beach this morning with Pat and Biscuit!

Baby and I went for a walk on the beach this morning with Pat and Biscuit!

I feel like I'm really starting to pop out this week!

I feel like I’m really starting to pop out this week!

Happy or moody: Mostly happy with – as I said last time – moments of feeling overwhelmed. But, hey, what pregnant lady doesn’t feel overwhelmed sometimes!

Looking forward to: Pat planned a date night for us this coming Friday at a French restaurant in town we’ve been wanting to try called L’Ardoise. I’m also looking forward to the three day weekend coming up for MLK, Jr. day and our big ultrasound appointment on the 20th.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One thought on “17 Weeks (+ First Baby Bump Picture)

Leave a Reply

