19 & 20 Weeks: We’re Halfway to Baby’s Arrival!

How far along?  20 weeks 1 day

Total weight gain/loss:  In my last post, I committed to only weighing in at doctor’s appointments from here on out. So, I haven’t had a doctor’s weigh-in the past week – so, I’m not sure! I have an appointment next week.

Maternity clothes?  Pretty much feel the same way about this now as I did in week 18 – maternity pants are definitely the way to go & tops are still looking a little big. I’m pretty much just wearing my regular tops or tops in non-maternity sizes in a size up.

Sleep: Sleep is finally starting to get a little bit uncomfortable. I’ve heard that a body pillow is the way to go – and while I may get to the store to get one of those soon, for now, I’ve been sleeping with a pillow under my side (hard to explain unless you see it really). This has been helping a lot.  I’m still getting a full 8 – 9 hours per night!

Best moments this week:  Last Tuesday, we went to our 2nd trimester ultrasound and anatomy scan. We were so happy to find out our baby is developing healthily and his little internal organs look good. I was most surprised to find out that he’s already weighing in at 10 ounces! This may not sound like much, but it feels like only a month ago the doctor was telling us that he was only 0.25 of an ounce! That little guy is growing so fast in there. My Ovia app says that baby is now the size of a head of endive (about 6.5 inches long and 10.5 ounces). We also found out that he’s a BOY! This is what I’ve thought all along (mom’s instincts, I guess!) and it was exciting to get this confirmed. I’m excited to start buying little boy clothes like this super cute Patagonia fleece I found online.

Miss anything? Nope.

Movement: Yes! I can feel him kicking around in there a lot lately. At night, it is definitely most frequent and I love laying in bed and just feeling him kick away. Pat was able to feel him for the first time a few nights ago which was pretty exciting.

Food cravings: Again, not really! I’m definitely eating a lot more protein that I have in the past, though. (Think: eggs, nuts, cheese, yogurt, chicken.) If I’m hungry, I’m not really wanting sweets which is unlike me. I do love eating ice cream (as I’ve always loved ice cream!), but generally, I’ve been much hungrier for proteins and salty snacks.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope. Thank goodness!

Have you started to show yet? Yes! It’s fun. I’m definitely now more on the spectrum of looking like I have a baby bump than that I ate a whole pizza in one sitting. I’m not really into people trying to touch my belly though, and I’ve had a few awkward encounters around that. One of my student’s parents was telling me congratulations last week and came at me with a hand out stretched.  At first, I thought she was trying to shake my hand (so this is what I did) and in retrospect, realized she was aiming right for my belly and I managed to inadvertently avoid the belly rub.

Happy or moody: I have been feeling pretty good the past week or so. Less stressed (I’ve finally broke the news to my students and my student’s parents that I’m pregnant and this was weighing on me) for sure. We had a really nice low-key weekend, which was relaxing. We went on a hike to Land’s End on Saturday morning which has beautiful views of the Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Biscuit loves rolling around on his back. So much so that he almost rolled right off this giant cliff. Crazy dog.

Biscuit loves rolling around on his back. So much so that he almost rolled right off this giant cliff. Crazy dog.

I love this dog.

I love this dog.

Yesterday, we spent the afternoon at Golden Gate Park eating snacks and playing Uno. That was probably the most relaxed I’ve been in a long time.

Looking forward to: This weekend, our friends Alex and Lauren Sutherland are flying in from North Carolina to hang out with us! We can’t wait. We love having visitors and we’re even more excited to host them because they’ve never been to SF before. They’ll be here Friday night through Monday evening, so Pat and I have been trying to figure out what to do with them. There’s so much to see here (and eat and do), it’s hard to narrow down our itinerary!

P.S. I also received this gem of a card from one of my students last week and can’t help but share it with you. #toosoon #nowords

2015-01-22 08.16.46

One thought on “19 & 20 Weeks: We’re Halfway to Baby’s Arrival!

Leave a Reply

