21 Weeks

Guess what? Baby is now about 10.5 inches long and around 3/4 of a pound! I can’t believe how fast our little guy is growing.

How far along?  21 weeks 3 days

Total weight gain/loss:  14 pounds. I’m at 124. My doctor said I’m right on track with my current weight gain and said from here on out, I should be gaining 1/2 – 1 pound per week. I felt relieved to know that I’m on track and healthy! My doctor also said my blood pressure looks good. Hooray for a healthy mama!

Maternity clothes?  I am in love with my Gap maternity jeans – yep, those same ones that I’ve been living in since week 15 or so. I’m getting too big for my regular tops now, but to be honest, I haven’t really felt too stressed about being too big or finding cute maternity tops that fit – haha, instead, I’ve been wearing comfy t-shirts. I did order a few maternity dresses online from a company in the UK called ASOS. I’m loving the three dresses because of their bright colors and perfect cut (empire waist with a flowy bottom). I couldn’t find the exact colors available online anymore, but they look a lot like this dress. I got one in lime, one in a raspberry color, and one in a bright pink! They’re super fun.

Sleep: Sleep is finally starting to get a little bit uncomfortable. I’ve heard that a body pillow is the way to go – and while I may get to the store to get one of those soon, for now, I’ve been sleeping with a pillow under my side (hard to explain unless you see it really). This has been helping a lot.  I’m still getting a full 8 – 9 hours per night!

Best moments this week:  Our friends Alex and Lauren came to visit us in SF and we had so much fun showing them the city. We covered a ton of ground on Saturday, including trips to Land’s End, Ocean Beach, the Cable Car Museum, a Fortune Cookie Factory in Chinatown, and, my personal favorite, Ghiradelli Square for ice cream sundaes. Poor Pat though – by the time we made it to Ghiradelli, we’d walked almost 6 miles and I didn’t realize how exhausted I was. We got in line for our ice cream and, out of nowhere, I felt tears coming on and I had a little meltdown. My guess was that I hadn’t rested enough during the day and my body got the best of me from all that walking!  Needless to say, I decided to find a seat on a bench nearby while the others waited in line and brought me ice cream. One GIANT ice cream cone later (chocolate chip cookie dough, of course!), and all was better.  We also got to hang with our friends David and Gabby (plus Alex and Lauren – woohoo!) for the SuperBowl on Sunday afternoon.

Miss anything? On Saturday, it was super weird to me how tired I felt all the sudden after the walking around town. I’ve always been a big walker / runner, so to walk 6 miles over the course of a day hasn’t ever really fazed me before. But on Saturday, my body was definitely telling me that “enough is enough” and to take a break. I definitely had a moment of frustration where I just wanted to be able to do what I’ve always been able to do with my body. But – this too shall pass, and haha, I can’t imagine how I’ll feel a few months from now if my body is already feeling tired now! I know I need to remember to rest and keep myself as healthy as possible for baby, so I just need constant reminders to take a break!

Movement: Yes! I can feel him kicking around in there a lot lately. He is one active little boy. It is very reassuring to feel my little guy in there.

Food cravings: Hmm…. definitely still eating ice cream at least every other day, if not everyday. I have been eating more fruits and vegetables lately which I’m happy about. During the first few months, I felt like I wasn’t able to stomach anything green – so it feels good to be able to get some healthy foods in me!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope. Thank goodness!

Have you started to show yet? Yes! And…I’m starting to reap some of those pregnancy perks! Yessss! What I’ve been waiting for. On Monday, I went to get a pedicure and the woman doing my nails noticed I was pregnant and wanted to hear all about baby and give me an extra long foot and calf massage. We are going on a “babymoon” in a few days and I’m hoping that these little perks will continue!

Happy or moody: Happy! I feel so happy that my boy is kicking around in there all the time. It is such a special reminder that he’s in there and he’s growing bigger everyday!

Looking forward to: We’ve been keeping this under wraps … but, we are going on a “babymoon” trip on Saturday! On Saturday morning, we are leaving for Maui for 5 days / 4 nights and I can’t wait! We decided that after baby comes, we are probably not going to have many more chances for big vacations for a while. So, we’ve got to take one last one while we can! We are planning on lounging and taking it easy and I – CAN’T – WAIT. We went to Kauai a few years ago and did a lot of the adventurous activities that Hawaii offers (ziplining, helicopter touring, kayaking, hiking, etc,) so we feel like we’ve gotten our need for adventure out of the way and will just be able to chill. Haha – and, I’m pregnant this time around, so ziplining is out of the question! I will definitely be posting pictures (new belly bump pics + Maui) on my next update – so stay tuned!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

