29 weeks

How far along? 29 weeks and 4 days. We had our third trimester ultrasound yesterday (Wednesday) and Baby’s measuring in at 3 pounds and he’s in the 55th percentile! We were very happy for that news!

Total weight gain? 22 pounds; I’m at 132. Doctor said this looks great and that my blood pressure was super “chilled out” (her words – not mine) and calm (110/70). Again, we feel so thankful for healthy baby and healthy mama!

Maternity clothes? Yes. It’s been so interesting to see how my feelings develop about this during my pregnancy. At first, it was all I could think about (finding maternity clothes that worked…), but now, as it gets closer to Baby’s arrival – I could care less about what I’m wearing and I’m just interested in getting things ready for Baby.

Sleep? My sleeping has gotten better since last week. The body pillow is definitely helping A TON – third trimester mommas, don’t try and go without one! I am pretty restless at night (waking up at least 6 – 7 times) and always shifting around, but I’m able to go back to sleep pretty easily which is a shift from the past few weeks where it felt like I was just staring at the ceiling all night long.

Best moments this week? This week has been such a blessing! I’ve finally started to feel a bit more settled in – thank goodness! We finally got all of our artwork hung this weekend and I bought the final lamp (for Baby’s room) today. Here are some photos of other little tidbits from Baby’s room:

Isn't this the cutest poofball? My parents gave us this big guy for Christmas for Baby's room. My friend Amanda gave us this sweet little rabbit friend (the first gift that Baby received!). The photos are pictures of Pat and I each as kids.

Isn’t this the cutest poofball? My parents gave us this big guy for Christmas for Baby’s room. My friend Amanda gave us this sweet little rabbit friend (the first gift that Baby received!). The photos are pictures of Pat and I each as kids.

Fun artwork for Baby.

Fun artwork for Baby.

I couldn't resist this sweet  giraffe painting. I love giraffes and once this caught my eye, I couldn't keep my mind off of it.

I couldn’t resist this sweet giraffe painting. I love giraffes and once this caught my eye, I couldn’t keep my mind off of it.

It feels like (at least furniture-wise) we are as done as we’re going to get for a while. Beyond feeling settled, the three big highlights of my week have been:

  1. Prenatal yoga: I started going last week and it is, hands-down, the BEST thing I’ve done for myself during pregnancy. It is so calming and feels like time just for me and Baby to bond and feel at peace. It’s the best. Again, if you’re a momma-to-be, please give prenatal yoga a try (and I wasn’t even a yoga person before!) – I would rank it over the prenatal massage I’ve had in terms of calming and relaxation benefits. I’ve also met a few other ladies with babies on the way and so it’s all been a good way to connect!
  2. Baby classes: We went to a parenting class last week and started a series of birthing classes this week. I’ll admit, the morning after each class, I had slight freak-outs from being overwhelmed by all the new information, but once I get through the newness of it (and process everything) – I feel happier and more prepared for Baby. Next week’s birthing class is called “Comfort Measures” and is all about figuring out pain management techniques for labor (different positions, massage, etc.).
  3. A visit with my friend, Lauren: Lauren and I taught next door to each other in SF and we became close quickly! I was sad to leave her when we moved, but the great news is that all her family lives in Tryon, NC. She was in town visiting them for spring break this week and we got to meet up for lunch in Hickory at this cute little cafe called Hatch. She made Baby the sweetest quilt! I couldn’t believe she made it! Such a sweet, sweet gift.

    This is the blanket that Lauren made. I am in love with it! The fabric is a seersucker material.

    This is the blanket that Lauren made. I am in love with it! The fabric is a seersucker material.

Miss anything? I have definitely been feeling more at home this week and haven’t felt as sad about our move (such a relief!). I do miss sleeping through the night without changing positions so many times, although this is probably just getting me ready for Baby’s arrival when sleeping through the night will become a far-off dream.

Movement? Yes. Pat also saw him move this week for the first time. His reaction was pretty funny – he couldn’t believe that he could actually see my belly move with Baby’s movement. It is pretty wild.

Food cravings? I always have loved Cadbury Creme Eggs at Easter – but I will dream about eating them now! I love those little guys and figure they’re only going to be around in stores for another few days (since Easters’ on Sunday), so might as well enjoy them while they last. They’re so sweet though – I can’t eat more than 1 at a time. But, I’ve definitely had an Egg a day for the past week or so.

Anything making you queasy or sick? Nope. I’ve been good this week. After getting sick from being dehydrated last week, I’ve been much more careful about making sure I get enough water everyday. I don’t want to feel sick like that again!

Have you started to show yet? Yes. It feels like my belly gets bigger every day!

This photo is actually from this past weekend (so technically, it was taken at 28 weeks) on a walk with Pat and Biscuit at Hanes Park which is only about 0.5 miles from our house.

This photo is actually from this past weekend (so technically, it was taken at 28 weeks) on a walk with Pat and Biscuit at Hanes Park which is only about 0.5 miles from our house.

My shadow. Pat thought it was funny how giant it looks (it does look pretty big! Eeesh!).

My shadow. Pat thought it was funny how giant it looks (it does look pretty big! Eeesh!).

Happy or moody? Generally, happy! Yay! Getting settled into our apartment has been huge for me. I am also so happy to have a room set up for Baby! Even though there is a TON of stuff we still need (ahem…diapers anyone?), it feels like things are starting to come together. I also have found a few things that I really enjoy doing here in Winston – my prenatal yoga class, walks at Hanes Park, and of course, spending time with Pat pretty much anywhere. I know that’s so cheesy, but it’s true!

Looking forward to? More prenatal yoga classes and our birthing classes. I also have sweet friends and family throwing me baby showers in April! I am excited to celebrate Baby with people who are as excited about his arrival as I am.

Leave a Reply

